When perusing Ravelry, what attracts my attention, more than anything else, is the color of a project.  I am especially drawn to unexpected color combinations.  For example, when I saw  MicheleLB’s terrific felted slip-stitch tote, I immediately bought the pattern and the yarn to make it — and copied the designer’s color scheme exactly:

My felted slip-stitch tote (sorry for the picture quality - this is from last year pre-blogging...)

My felted slip-stitch tote (sorry for the picture quality - this is from last year pre-blogging...)

Here are some other versions of the tote that the designer made (these are her photos):

I absolutely LOVE those color combinations.  But I would never have thought to put those colors together in a million years.

When yarn shopping, I tend to be drawn to the same colors: pinks, browns, greens.  And although I love unexpected color combinations, I am not clever enough to come up with them myself.  How do I get better at this? 

On another note, I am sad about the imminent closure of Noe Knit.  A loss for San Francisco knitters, for sure.

