Here’s that little design project I’ve been working on…

Little dudes will love shooting hoops wearing this ode-to-basketball hat.  It features a large bobble on top and SWISH duplicate-stitched on the front. A great stash-buster, the Jake hat delivers a big wow factor but is far less complicated than it looks!  Consider making it in your favorite team colors.

Materials:

2 colors of worsted weight wool.  In the example, I used Cascade 220 (navy) for the main color and Dream in Color Classy (saffron) for the contrasting color.

16” circular needles, sizes US 6 & 7 (4 & 4.5 mm) or size needed to obtain gauge (I am a loose knitter so in the example, I used sizes US 5 & 6) and additional needles in the larger size for small-diameter knitting (DPNs, a second circular or a long Magic Loop needle).

Small amount of black embroidery floss or lightweight black yarn.

Small amount of fiberfill or scrap yarn to stuff basketball bobble.

Gauge:

5.25 stitches/inch in stockinette stitch.

I named it Jake after one of my son’s oldest friends, an incredible athlete.  Jake also invited my son to be on his basketball team this year.  It was my son’s first team sport and he loved it.  He even won a trophy:

I hope you like the pattern.  It’s available here.  If you need help with duplicate stitching, I made a video tutorial: click here.

