One of my favorite parts of knitting my 63-square afghan was personalizing it. I loved selecting the yarn, the colors and fantasizing about how I’d eventually lay it all out. I made some early executive decisions — no two-color squares (too busy for me) and no lace squares (not only does lace stress me out but with two small kids, I figured little fingers would wiggle through the blanket, making yarn overs into huge holes). So I turned to stitch dictionaries for alternative square patterns. About a third of the way through, I got the idea to substitute some dishcloth patterns for squares in the book so that I could truly personalize the blanket. So I’ve got squares with each of our initials as well as squares representing other things of significance to our family. I thought that seeing some of these squares would be a unique way to help you, as readers, get to know me, as knitter and blogger.

This is the center of the afghan, it is meant to symbolize me and my husband

This is the center of the afghan, it is meant to symbolize me and my husband


An example of an initial square (I'm still debating how I'll be referring to family members in this blog so for now their initials will remain private)

An example of an initial square (I'm still debating how I'll be referring to family members in this blog so for now their initials will remain private)


Representing my sweet 17-year-old deaf, arthritic cat Mensch

Representing my sweet 17-year-old deaf, arthritic cat Mensch


I designed this square myself -- I wanted a square representing our beloved San Francisco

I designed this square myself -- I wanted a square representing our beloved San Francisco


My day doesn't begin until I've taken my Golden Retriever for a walk, usually to get Peet's Coffee

My day doesn't begin until I've taken my Golden Retriever for a walk, usually to get Peet's Coffee


An early square -- and one of my favorites

An early square -- and one of my favorites

