After the 8-month afghan project, during which I knit only small projects like hats or toys, it is wonderful to return to sweater knitting. (And in comparison to that 63-square, huuuuggggggeee afghan, a cardigan seems like nothin’.) I’m about 3/4 done with the lovely Diminishing Ribs Cardigan from the cover of the spring 2009 Interweave Knits.

P1010570

The yarn is Valley Yarns Sheffield, which I bought at Stitches West in February. Though I’m a HUGE Valley Yarns fan, I’ve never used Sheffield. From what I’ve read, it blooms quite a bit. So I’m knitting the smallest size — sort of. I’m using the stitch counts of the smallest size but the measurements of the next largest size. This has worked for me in the past.

I’m using size 6 needles (I’m a very loose knitter, which is surprising given my uptight personality!) but dropped to size 5 for that middle portion to (hopefully) provide a flattering, slimming waist. Many knitters of this cardigan have complained about the lack of closures but I’m not worried about that.

I got a little tired of that bottom ribbing section so I put it on hold while I started a sleeve. (I also wanted to make sure I’d have enough yarn to finish the sleeves and then I can keep knitting the bottom as long as I’d like.)

I absolutely LOVE the tubular cast on. It provides a lovely, finished look. For that, I referred to Eunny Jang’s video instructions on YouTube.

On another note, remember our weekend trip to the Farmer’s Market? Well, the next day, I was slicing strawberries we bought there. As I cut into one, I noticed part of the inside was black. I thought, “How can this strawberry, which looks so beautifully in tact from the outside, have mold inside?” I looked a little closer…inside was a fully grown, completely alive EARWIG!!! I, being very squeamish about this kind of thing, screamed bloody murder and threw the strawberry into the sink. Wondering what, exactly, had caused my hysteria, my husband looked down — the earwig was crawling OUT of the garbage disposal! Thankfully, he quickly resolved the issue. But I could not believe that a perfect-looking strawberry had a huge, alive insect living happily in its middle. And what if, gasp!, someone had just bit right into that berry?!!? Bleeccch! After I calmed down, I informed the kids, “If you want any more strawberries, ask Dad.”

