P1040678

I can sew!!!!!!!!!!!  Thanks to a great new teacher, my sister and I made these PJ bottoms in a 2-hour lesson.  (My sister made the blue ones, I made the pink ones.)  Amazingly, the seams are almost totally straight!  We learned lots of tips and tricks.  Although we did learn a lot about pattern-reading, I am a bit concerned that I wouldn’t be able to follow a brand-new pattern without the teacher there.  (Pattern writers seem to assume a lot of knowledge on the part of the sewer, even the new sewer.)  But I am inspired nonetheless, especially regarding quilting.  We are going to schedule a second lesson with this teacher and work on a tote bag with a pocket.

The kids were excited, as evidenced by the photo below, though they did ask, “Where are the tops?”

P1040684

