My sister and I spent five (!) hours sewing together on Labor Day.  We decided to follow a friend’s advice: to improve your sewing skills, make the same pattern several times.  Sooooo…here are four more pairs of kid PJ bottoms:

I made the boy pair; my sister made the girl pair.

I made the boy pair; my sister made the girl pair.

 

Here, I made the girl pair; my sister made the boy pair.

Here, I made the girl pair; my sister made the boy pair.

We are still not great — and we learned that seams sewn at the end of a five-hour session are absolutely going to show evidence of sewer exhaustion.  But we’re getting much better and we are enjoying it, rather than getting frustrated, like before.

Meanwhile, my practice baby quilt top is completed.  The actual quilting step is on hold until our next sewing lesson at the end of the month, when I will ask our teacher how to install and use the walking foot.

EDITED TO ADD: Okay, I’m kinda hoping you haven’t read all the way to the end of this post, but late at night my dad sent me this photo he took of us sewing on Monday.  It’s not at all flattering but it’s just too funny not to include.  My husband called us “the Shmate Sisters,” which is a funny and inspired reference to the Yiddish word for rags/cheap clothing.  I’m on the left in the pink shirt.

shmatesisters

