Remember when I completed my Emma bag and was disappointed that the straps made the bag lay the wrong way on your body — with the short side against your hip?  Well, it occurred to me the other day while walking the dog (many good ideas come to me while walking the dog…) that I actually could have sewed the straps in the other way, similar to how I constructed my son’s trick-or-treat bag.  It was a big ah-ha moment. 

I continued walking, though, because I am not usually one to un-do knitting and especially not one to un-do seaming. So I wasn’t sure I was actually going to go through with changing it.  I just felt stupid for not having realized the two different ways the straps could be installed.  (Did this occur to anyone reading that old post and you were too afraid to tell me?!)  But when I got home, I checked out the bag and was reminded that I had merely tacked the straps down after felting.  So the threads were easily cut and re-sewn. (I had a second, minor ah-ha moment when it occurred to me that I would only have to un-do and re-sew two of the four strap points!)  So within about 25 minutes, my bag went from this:

Straps Sewn the Stupid Way

…to this:

Ahhhhhhh!

Of course, I am much happier with it.  It’s far more wearable and it makes the longer straps I knit far more user-friendly.  At the same time, I felt like a total idiot for not figuring this out sooner!  🙂

