Here are the results of my hat-a-polooza so far:

That’s Nutmeg from the Blackstone Tweed book.  I used Valley Yarns Sheffield leftover from my Diminishing Ribs Cardigan, which was perfect for this project.  Strangely, the pattern calls for knitting the hat flat and then seaming it.  I don’t love seaming but it was such a short seam that it seemed quicker to do that than to re-formulate the pattern to knit it in the round.  I had one nutty knitting session where I screwed up an important row and ended up spending 2 hours simply to preserve several nights of work (my lifeline was too short and had slipped out of about 1/4 of the stitches, making it useless).  But I am pleased that I powered through that and finished it up. 

Now that I’m re-evaluating my garment knitting, I am looking at my pattern books differently.  So even if I never knit Nonpareil, I’ve gotten use out of the Blackstone Tweed book.

And here are some “scrappy” hats I whipped up for the upcoming craft fair at my kids’ school:

 

