The other day I was feeling tired, hormonal and cranky.  So I decided to take a trip to Imagiknit for a pick-me-up.  I’d had a 10 percent off card in my wallet for months and I figured it was time to use it.  Here’s what I got:

Malabrigo Silky Merino

I just discovered Never Not Knitting’s podcast and blog.  She has lovely photos and projects.  Through her, I discovered the Red Rose pattern.  Since I’m on a bit of a hat kick, I thought I might try it.  If I change my mind, Malabrigo Silky Merino knits up into a lovely scarf

I also got this:

Lamb's Pride Superwash Sport

Since I am looking at my pattern books in a new light, I was drawn to Brooklyn Tweed’s Beaumont Tam.  (As with Nutmeg, if I decide not to knit the garments I first liked in the book, I’ve still gotten use out of the book by knitting some hat projects.)  I’ve never tried this yarn before, but I think it’ll work great.  It doesn’t have the mohair of the worsted and bulky Lamb’s Pride, so I don’t think it’ll be itchy.

I’m enjoying my current hat-a-palooza.  I’ve always been a hat knitter and it’s nice to have a series of quick, satisfying projects.  Soon, I’ll work up the nerve to dive into my pullover.

