I’ve been knitting a lot for my daughter lately so I thought I’d make something for my little boy.  I knit this yarmulke from Mason-Dixon Knitting Outside the Lines:

As you can see, instead of the stripes, I alternated colors of the “pie” shapes.  It commemorates my son’s love of all things Cal.  (Go Bears!)  I am not nearly as fond of this pattern as I am of the one in Greetings from the Knit Cafe.  But that one uses sock-weight yarn and this uses worsted — it was a quick, 1.5-hour project.

Now some questions for you.  First, I made this scarf for my husband a few years ago:

Single Cable Scarf from Leigh Radford's "One Skein" Book

And it looks like a pill-y, tattered mess:

The yarn is RYC Cashsoft Aran, a lovely yarn to knit with.  But what the #(@& happened?  I took a sweater stone to it and also pulled by hand as many of the pills as I could, but I hardly made a dent!  I soaked it in Eucalan too.  Nothing helped.  Ideas?  I think this one may be history…

Another question…  At (ahem) 41, am I too old for leg warmers?  I’m not talking about the slouchy kind from the ’80’s, but the thick, straight, ribbed ones (check out this version on Ravelry).  And if it turns out f I’m not too old, how could I wear them (i.e., what kind of outfit) without looking like a geek?  My pilates teacher wears them below a fitness skirt and knee-length leggings.  But she’s a lot younger, cuter and skinnier than I am so I’m not sure I could pull that off!  🙂

