I may soon run out of androgynous names for hats that work equally well on boys and girls so feel free to send in suggestions.  In the meantime, here’s my latest design:

The “Nicky” hat features simple, two-color ribbing and bobbles swirling around, which will charm both kids and grown-ups alike! For knitters, this pattern falls into the “easier than it looks” and “great use for scraps” categories!

Materials:
2 colors of worsted weight wool, about 40 yards in color A and 140 yards in color B. In the example, I used Cascade 220 Superwash (yellow – color A) and Cascade 220 (grey – color B).   16” circular needles, sizes US 6 & 7 (4 & 4.5 mm) or size needed to obtain gauge (I am a loose knitter so in the example, I used sizes US 5 & 6) and additional needles in the larger size for small-diameter knitting (DPNs, a second circular or a long Magic Loop needle).
Gauge: 5.5 stitches/inch in stockinette stitch.   Measurements: Child-sized: 7.75” from brim to tip of top bobble when measured flat. The pattern, available here, includes guidelines for sizing up or down.

I’ve wanted to use grey and yellow together in a hat for awhile and I’d also wanted to try some two-color ribbing.  I came up with the swirling bobbles as a way to offset the vertical stripes of the brim.  I must say, I am really happy with the result.  

While designs are coming faster and easier and the Ravelry “hearts” are remain plentiful, sales are still painfully slllllooowwww.  I’m trying not to get discouraged.

I do love the comments about my delicious models.  But just to assure you that they’re not always happy, agreeable, willing subjects (I have to take about 50 bad pictures for every great one!)*, I’ll leave you with this:

* As I’ve mentioned, it’s a pet peeve of mine when craft bloggers post in a selective manner that makes their lives appear perfect.

