I am absolutely in love with this little knitted chicken!

I mean, really, have you ever seen anything cuter?  This was a super quick knit.  The pattern is the Dotted Chickens pattern from Itty-Bitty Nursery.  I used Valley Yarns Northfield leftover from my recent scarf and the green is leftover silky merino Lady Godiva from my Cedar Leaf Shawlette.  (Yes, this is a FANCY chicken.)  I used size 2 needles.  My only modifications were to do only large dots because the small dots turned out less circular than I’d like.  And instead of poly pellets, which I didn’t have, I wrapped up some dried beans in a plastic baggie and put it in the center surrounded by fiberfill.

Why a chicken, you ask?  Well, I’d heard all the talk about knitted chickens on the Ready, Set, Knit podcast (one of my favorites) and began perusing the finished objects from that knit-along on Ravelry.  They were very cute.  They were designed by Susan B. Anderson, also one of my favorites.  That pattern is available for about 7 bucks.  Then I remembered that Susan had another chicken pattern in one of her Itty-Bitty books (I have them all) and decided to go with that.  It’s much smaller than the other knitted chicken pattern, making it a low-commitment project, and, even better, I already had it in my collection.  I am super happy with how it turned out.  My seaming and sewing skills are definitely improving.

