I’m pleased to introduce my newest hat pattern:  Maggie!

The color combination was inspired by one of my daughter’s bathing suits!  Behold:

I wanted to figure out a way to work navy, turquoise, white and yellow into a hat.  Maggie is what I got!

Those flowers are knitted, by the way.  You don’t need any crochet for this hat.  Here’s the knitterly info:

Materials:  4 colors of worsted weight yarn.  In the example, I used Knit Picks Swish (navy, turquoise, white) and Cascade 220 Superwash (yellow).  You’ll need about 130 yards of main color (here, navy) and fewer than 40 yards each of the other colors.

16” circular needles, sizes US 5 & 6 (3.5 & 4 mm) or size needed to obtain gauge (I am a loose knitter so in the example, I used US sizes 4 & 5) and additional needles in the larger size for small-diameter knitting (DPNs, a second circular or a long Magic Loop needle).

Gauge:  5.5 stitches/inch in stockinette stitch.

Measurements:  Child-sized: 7” from brim to tip when measured flat.  Pattern includes guidelines for sizing up or down.

I hope you like it!  The pattern is available here.

Speaking of patterns, stay tuned for a cool pattern deal that I plan to offer next week.  🙂

