Here’s my version of the Selbu Modern hat:

I used Jamieson’s Shetland Spindrift (yellow), Knit Picks Palette (“asphalt”) and sizes 1 and 2 needles.  I’m pretty happy with this.  I considered making the contrasting color a caramel brown.  But I’m glad I settled on the dark grey because I’m not sure brown would have provided enough contrast.  The finished hat could probably stand to be blocked a bit slouchier but, from experience, I know I’d rather have low slouch than too stretched out so I may just leave it as is for awhile.

The knitting went pretty well, though small-gauge fair isle can be murder on the hands, which is why I only do it once in awhile.  I did knit three stitches in the wrong colors, but I noticed it right away so I just put markers on them, carried on and then duplicate-stitched over them at the end.  That was way easier than tinking back dozens and dozens of stitches, which would have risked screwing things up even worse.

PRE-blocking

The only other thing I messed up was the very last two rounds, which I misread.  The way I knit them altered the slants of the decreases.  But if you look closely, you’ll see that forms the tiniest heart shape — and I kind of like it!

