We have a nephew coming to stay with us for a month and he’ll be camping out in the downstairs “playroom.”  We needed a window covering for privacy and I happened to have some leftover fabric in just the right size.  My husband asked if I could sew a window covering.  Sure, I thought.  How hard can it be?  Admittedly, I haven’t used my sewing machine in a couple of months but it was just a rectangle, after all.  I didn’t even need to do any cutting.  But… ugh!  I can’t even sew a neat freakin’ rectangle!  Blaaaah! 

See those wonky stitches off to the right??? One of many problems...

One thing that bugs me about sewing is just when you think you’re in a rhythm or that you’ve got the hang of something, you run out of bobbin thread.  Or your machine comes unthreaded.  Or the stitches suddenly get all wonky.  Or the thread jams up the needle.  I hate that!  At least with knitting, there is no machine error — only human error (and I’ve had plenty of those, of course, but somehow it’s not as annoying).

What I have learned is that I do much better with shorter seams than longer ones, which is, I’m realizing now, a primary reason I’ve liked quilts.  I received a Joann’s gift card for Hanukkah.  So I want to get some fabric to make another quilt.  I know I’ve said that before, but this time….this time I’m gonna do it!  🙂

