So after a slew of small projects, including some socks on the needles now, I decided I’m ready for another garment.  And I took a long and winding road to get to what I finally picked.  As I mentioned, I love, love, love Collins:

Photo copyright by Caro of Splityarn

But for some reason, I’m just not in the MOOD right now to knit something like that on worsted weight yarn.  (I am a loose knitter so I knit worsted weight on needles as small as 4’s or 5’s.)  So I started to think about some bulky weight patterns.  I was attracted to Astor and there are some cute versions on Ravelry:

And the yarn for Astor was even going on sale during Webs’s anniversary sale.  But then I started to have second thoughts about a cardigan that doesn’t close fully in the front, exposing my post-2-kids/peanut-butter-filled belly.  That was a big problem with my wretched Empire Waist Cardigan (no link provided because it’s so unflattering).  So I wondered what else I could make with that bulky yarn that was going on sale.  I did a refined search on Ravelry and came across this:

Mmm…that’s Campbell.  I was intrigued, but not yet sold…until I saw this version on Ravelry:

Yup, that’s it.  It was her repositioning of the belt that made all the difference.  It reminded me of this ready-to-wear sweater, which I blogged about last year:

So…yarn on sale at Webs, pattern book purchased for less than half price on eBay and…badda bing, badda boom…there you have it, my next garment project!

