I finished a scarf and a book!

The book, while inventive and uniquely written, did not quite live up to the hype I’d heard about it.***  The scarf, meanwhile, was a surprising pleasure to knit.  I can’t believe that a 1×1 scarf went so quickly and painlessly.  I used size 6 needles and Knit Picks Chroma in Midwinter and Fossil (a great color combo I lifted from another Raveler).  The Chroma is a super soft yarn but it’s a single ply and I fear it’s going to pill.  I had planned to use  it again one day to knit Diana’s amazing Kaleidescope shawl but that pattern is just too special to knit in a pill-y yarn.  This scarf will be the test of its durability.  Also, I had meticulously scanned the Ravelry projects with helpful notes but by the time I got to the end of this project, I had completely forgotten that people recommended a tubular bind off to prevent flaring.  Rats.  Since we know my unraveling skills leave a lot to be desired, I’m just going to leave the bind off as is.  It flares slightly but not too bad.  I would definitely make another one of these scarves.

Last week I also knit another custom knit hat, this one was from a random person on Etsy, which was really exciting.  (Funnily enough, the person requested the exact same hat I’d just made — a green hat with LIAM in white…)  Speaking of hats, I’ve had a lot of ideas bubbling up so I’m going to make a bunch and see if any are worthy of a new pattern release.

***On the topic of books, I have become slightly obsessed with reading/re-reading some classics.  First up, To Kill a Mockingbird.  I’ve also checked out several audio books (Rebecca, The Grapes of Wrath, Brideshead Revisted, among others) from the library.  If you have any suggestions of classics (in book or audio format) to add to my list, please let me know.

