This morning, I took a class on traveling stitches from Cookie A. on the last day of the inaugural Interweave Knitting Lab, right near my hometown and 30 minutes from San Francisco.  I hadn’t taken a knitting class in years but the teacher lineup for this conference was seriously world class and I thought I’d give it a try.  I’m only an occasional sock knitter, but I figured the techniques could apply to hat design.  Not only was I right about that, but now I want to knit every Cookie A. sock pattern out there (has anyone ever done that?) AND join her sock club (which has sign-ups starting Wednesday and, HELLO, comes with actual cookie recipes in addition to sock yarn and patterns).  It was a fun, informative class and I met a lot of nice people.  Here’s a camera phone photo from the morning:

I’m seriously on a knitting class high!  Tomorrow morning I’m going to call Stitches West customer service and get on the waiting list for some classes that have already sold out for 2012.  Meanwhile, I’ve been knitting (surprise, surprise) some hats for the fast-approaching craft fair:

The hat I’ve got on the needles now MIGHT end up being a pattern release.  I just have to see if it turns out the way I hope it does.  I also received another Etsy order for two custom hats — yea!  Perhaps I will be able to afford that Cookie A sock club after all!

