I received the first shipment in the Cookie A Sock Club.

Gorgeous, right?  That’s Alisha Goes Around, which has both cashmere and silk.  (It came in that printed project bag!)  Given the color and the fiber content, I was tempted to use the yarn for a scarf, but then I reminded myself that this is a SOCK club and one of the reasons I sprang for the club was to knit more (adventurous) socks.  I wasn’t totally wild about the patterns that accompanied this shipment (though I was super impressed with the length and thoroughness of the document!).  But I wanted to still make some Cookie A socks so I am going to attempt her Rick pattern.  I saw those socks in real life (in red!) when I took her class and loved them so I think it’ll be perfect.  Each shipment also comes with two cookie recipes.  One from this shipment is a spicy chocolate cookie recipe that I plan to attempt in the next few weeks.  (The other is a fortune cookie recipe,; I probably won’t attempt those.) By the way, it took a lot of will power not to glimpse the spoiler photos in the club’s Ravelry group before my own shipment arrived, but I held out and it really was super fun to get a surprise package like this in the mail.  I am now enjoying the photos of people’s finished socks and cookies. 

Meanwhile, I finished a project for my hands:

Those are the Sweet Fern Mitts from Clara Parkes made with Quince & Co. Lark.  This is a great little pattern that uses very little yarn and has just enough cabling to keep it interesting.  I’m not wild about the color — it’s sort of a faint ice blue that looks white from a distance.  It’s very muted and I think these could get dirty quickly.  That said, it was an enjoyable little project.

Speaking of enjoyable, have you heard the 2 Knit Lit Chicks podcast?  If not, I recommend it.  It’s a charming mom-daughter duo and they discuss knitting and books.  It’s been a great podcast to listen to, especially given that some of my other favorites (Never Not Knitting, the Knitmore Girls) are on haitus.  Barb and Tracie are leading a book club now and I decided to join in.  We’re reading The Paris Wife, a fictionalized account of Hemingway’s first wife.  I’m enjoying it quite a bit.

