I was super inspired by my friend over at Wool Free and Lovin’ Knit, who has made a bunch of adorable Converse-style baby booties.  She used a book that I happened to have, but hadn’t used in awhile because the sizing always seemed so wonky.  But she made some super cute mods and I just couldn’t resist.  I bought some DK yarn in the Webs sale (yarn not pictured in photo because I was knitting with it) in a gender-neutral color, hoping that perhaps sometime soon I’d receive a “we’re pregnant” announcement from a friend and I’d have an excuse to make these.  Well, lo and behold, right after I ordered the yarn, I learned that my kids’ all-time favorite preschool teacher (perhaps all-time favorite teacher period) is pregnant.  Knitting excuse granted!  Here’s what I made:

Given my yarn choice and my loose-knitting style, these came out big, borderline too big, even though I knit the smallest size.  In other gift knitting, I made a quick pair of simple fingerless mitts for a therapist I’ve been working with for the past six months, who is helping me overcome a phobia I’ve suffered from for more than 30 years.  Overcome may be too strong of a word — I’m coping with it, which is sort of the best I could hope for given that the phobia had started to overtake my life.  Our weekly therapy is winding down, though I may still see her periodically for tune ups.  Her office is sometimes cold so I knit her these:

 

I used this pattern (which is fun since my love of Tahoe is well documented) but modified it heavily.  They are just shy of too tight.  I probably should have cast on 30 stitches instead of 28 but they still work.  I used size 5 needles and Knit Picks’s Andes del Campo, which I had picked up when it first launched to try it out.  I liked it quite a bit.

I also knit a hat and I’m probably going to continue knitting hats over the next week as I eagerly await my next Cookie A Sock Club shipment!

