So amidst all the excitement surrounding the release of my new novel, HEADS OR TAILS, I am still knitting! I’ve made several hats as thank-you and baby gifts but I’ve been lazy about documenting them. (Trust me when I say that the hat I made for my Spanish teacher in the colors of the Argentinian flag was really cute!) And I’ve been working away on my pullover. Despite what I wrote in a previous post, I did not end up frogging and re-doing it. The front neck wasn’t that wonky after all. But for some unknown reason, it has still taken me for-EVER to complete. I’m on the final sleeve.

Image 1

I should have FO photos in the coming weeks. Meanwhile, I’m heading out on a long journey and decided to bring yarn for a new pair of socks. Because I dislike airline travel, I decided to treat myself to some of my favorite sock yarn for the trip.

Image

Hopefully when I return I’ll have FO photos of both the pullover AND a completed pair of socks!

PS — If you’d like to test-drive my new novel, you can read the first three chapters here. If you do end up reading the book, I’d love your feedback!

It’s been a little quiet over here because I have been working on a non-knitting FO:

Heads or Tails 402medium

That’s my new novel!

“Take my baby.” 

Hillary can’t believe the words her best friend Margot just uttered. Deeply committed to her devoutly childless marriage, Hillary doesn’t know the first thing about infants – and has zero interest in learning. But Margot’s post-partum depression has reached a dangerous peak. With the baby a sperm donor production and Margot’s mother Jean suffering from Parkinson’s, there’s no one else. And for reasons nobody knows, Hillary owes both Margot and Jean. 

Suddenly, Hillary is forced to bring the baby from Manhattan to San Francisco, where she works as general contractor for the city’s hottest restoration company. Right away, the baby’s arrival exposes hairline cracks in Hillary’s marriage to Jesse and stirs up latent resentment towards her parents, who’d been too overcome with grief to ever parent her properly. Before long, Hillary finds herself doing all kinds of things she vowed never to do, including things with her handsome and mysterious neighbor Abe. And then the question arises: should this arrangement become permanent? 

Fans of Jodi Picoult, Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner will be drawn to the fresh premise of HEADS OR TAILS, a story that explores themes of friendship and loyalty and what happens when your core identity is challenged. Perfect for book clubs, the Kindle edition concludes with questions for discussion. 

I’d be thrilled if you read it and also honored if you shared its release with your book-loving friends. In celebration of its publication, I’ve also temporarily lowered the price of my first book, Cheer: A Novel.

On the knitting front, I *have* been making lots of things, including several hats and a pullover that’s almost done. More on that soon!

So I finished this cowl awhile back.

Image 1

I used this pattern, but I was inspired, color-wise, by this cowl I saw in person at Imagiknit.

Image

Amidst a few baby hats I’ve made for gifts, I also started a sweater with Malabrigo Rios. Unfortunately, I didn’t anticipate where the center front is and that’s, of course, precisely where I decided to switch balls of yarn (so I don’t get pooling) every two rows. As a result, it’s a little loose and wonky there. Soooooo…I’m probably going to have to rip this all out because who wants loose and wonky right at the center neck? I’ve never been great at understanding — just on paper — what’s happening in a garment. It’s only after I’ve knit it that I get it. Is anyone else like that? Sigh. Otherwise, though, I think I’m going to like this sweater. I don’t want to jinx it (given my spotty history with sweater knitting) but fingers crossed.

Introducing my latest design: The Hanuman Ankle Socks!

Image

These stashbusting ankle socks are the perfect way to use up partial balls of sock yarn. Mix and match contrasting colors for a colorblocking and striping extravaganza. These feminine socks feature an eye-catching picot cuff, an afterthought heel and a rounded toe. Size – standard women’s.

Image 1

Materials:

Two colors of fingering-weight yarn. In the example, I used Stricken Smitten Simply Sock (blue) and Enchanted Knoll Farm EKF Superwash Sock Yarn (green). You’ll need 125 yards or less of each.

Size US 0 to 2 (2.0mm, to 2.75mm) needles or size needed to obtain gauge. (I am a loose knitter so in the example, I used size 1). You can use whatever needles you prefer for small-diameter knitting (DPNs, 2 circulars or a long Magic Loop needle).

Gauge:

8 stitches/inch in stockinette stitch.

Image 2

I’ve been doing a lot of reading about yoga and the Hindi god Hanuman sort of spoke to me when I was devising these socks. So I named the pattern after him.

I hope you like these fun little socks! The pattern is available on Ravelry.

Image

…was a secret stowaway in my son’s bag, which was packed for a lengthy (and distant!) school trip. I hope he likes it. I still (really!) need to work on my faces on toys. But I don’t think my son will be too discerning. I also made another headband for yoga and a bunch of preemie hats:

Image

I’m now at work on a new design — for socks!!! After that, I’m planning a cowl and a sweater (with this pretty pink yarn).

What’s on your needles?

Ever since seeing this sample knit up at Imagiknit, I’ve had my eye on this hat. It has an unusual construction — it’s knit sideways with short rows, which highlights the cool color changes. I decided to give it a try.

Image 1 Image

That’s side A and side B — with the long color repeats, the sides are quite different. It’s supposed to be folded at the hem but my gauge was slightly off so it turned out to be a short hat. (And because it’s knit sideways, you can’t really fix that!) So I single-crocheted along the bottom to neaten it up. Overall, I’m happy with it. I used the called-for yarn (Plymouth Yarn’s Gina) and size 4 needles.

Since finishing this hat, I’ve been working on some preemie hats out of leftover sock yarn. I think I’ll make another yoga headband too. Soon, though, another sweater!

I finished several little projects in the last few weeks, including:

Image

a tea cozy (I don’t know why but I’ve always wanted to make one),

Image

boot toppers,

Image

a cozy for my new Kindle Paperwhite (I finally replaced my first-generation Kindle!),

Image 2

a headband to wear during yoga class,

Image 1

Image

and two baby hats!

 

 

 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers